Translating Micro/Nano Engineering Innovations into Clinic

Our lab focuses on the development of new technologies for molecular analysis and biomedical research via advances in micro- and nano-scale sciences. We aim to develop new methods, devices and systems with unprecedented performance characteristics, such as sensitivity, specificity, resolution (temporal and/or spatial), multiplexing and throughput to rectify current technological limitations in the molecular study of diseases. By forging long-term collaborations with medical scientists and physicians across various disciplines (e.g. Oncology, Pathology, Surgery and Emergency Medicine) and by leveraging our engineering innovations in microfluidics, single molecule spectroscopy and functional nanoparticles, we are developing genetic and epigenetic biomarker-based diagnostics , prognostics and monitoring for cancer and an array of other diseases.

Latest   News:

06/2013 Stephanie Fraley won the $500,000 Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF) Career Award. BWF’s Career Awards to bridge advanced postdoctoral training and the first three years of faculty service. These awards are intended to foster the early career development of researchers who have transitioned or are transitioning from undergraduate and/or graduate work in the physical/mathematical/computational sciences or engineering into postdoctoral work in the biological sciences, and who are dedicated to pursuing a career in academic research.
04/2013 Helena Zec received the P.E.O. Scholar Award. P.E.O. Scholar Awards are one-time competitive awards for women of the United States and Canada who are either pursuing a graduate degree or engaged in advanced study or research at an accredited college or university. In addition to recognizing and encouraging excellence in higher education, these awards provide partial support for study and research for women who will make significant contributions in their varied fields of endeavor.
04/2013 Stretching the Rainbow. Yi Zhang’s award winning image was featured on the front cover of Lab Chip. The winning image depicts a tiny water droplet held in place by surface energy traps (SETs) and stretched using a magnetic field to pull on magnetic particles within it. The device consisted of a glass cover slip coated with Teflon and patterned with the SETs. The device was placed on top of a DVD disc to produce the brilliant rainbow colors. A white LED light source was brought to an angle that maximized the intensity of a diffraction pattern that reflected from the surface of the DVD. The magnet was positioned under the assembly and used to tug on the magnetic particles, which appear as a black plug in the droplet.
03/2013 Yi Zhang received the Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Student Aboard. This award which started in 2003, sponsored by the Chinese government, is awarded to recognize outstanding research accomplishments of Chinese graduate students studying outside China without government funding.
01/2013 Yi Zhang and Cyrus Beh are the Grand Prize Winner of the 2013 JALA & JBS Art of Science Contest. In the the award winning picture, five droplets of identical volume display gradually decreasing contact angles due to the surface energy gradient created on a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) substrate. Five water droplets were stained with different food dyes to aid visualization. The energy gradient is created by adjusting the surface roughness of the PDMS substrate through microengineering. Various regions on the PDMS substrate are roughened to different degrees by altering the sizes and spacing of the microstructures on the surface.
11/2012 Yi Zhang won The Best Paper Award of the The 6th IEEE International Conference on Nano/Molecular Medicine and Engineering (IEEE NANOMED 2012)
10/2012 μTAS Art in Science Award. Yi Zhang (center) receives the 5th annual μTAS Art in Science Award, presented by Michael Gaitan of NIST (left) and Harpal Minhas of LOC/RSC (right).
09/2012 Five BME doctoral candidates named 2011 Siebel Scholars. Yi Zhang, a BME PhD candidate from Wang’s lab, named the 2013 Siebel Scholar. The Siebel Scholars program was established by the Siebel Foundation in 2000 to recognize the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering.
04/2012 Yin and Yang in a Droplet. Yi Zhang’s award winning image was featured on the front cover of Lab Chip. The fluorescence image is described as a snapshot of the mixing of two types of quantum dot solutions inside a sessile droplet driven by a microfluidic magnetic gyromixer. The mixing results in quantum dot streamlines that resemble the ancient Chinese symbol for Yin and Yang.
03/2012 The Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings. Helena Zec has been selected to attend the 62nd Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting to be held 1-6 July 2012 in in Germany.
03/2012 BioMEMS Lab alumnus Tim Yeh accepting the Assistant Professor position in the Biomedical Engineering Department at UT Austin.
02/2012 ACS Nano Podcast featuring an interview with Dr. Jeff Wang about quantum nanotethers for high-resolution genetic analysis.
02/2012 BioMEMS Lab alumnus Megan Ho receives Sapere Aude Young Elite Researcher Award and will join iNANO at Aarhus University in Denmark.
10/2011 μTAS Art in Science Award. Yi Zhang and Dong Jin Shin (center) receives the 4th annual μTAS Art in Science Award, presented by Michael Gaitan of NIST (left) and Harpal Minhas of LOC/RSC (right).
07/2011 Dr. Wang received a R01 grant of $1.7M from NIH/NCI for the development of multiplexed single-molecule detection platform for analysis of cancer biomarkers.